Stay classy, Lou…

From Lou Dobbs & submitted without comment:

“And by the way, I’ve got to wish to you, each and every one, Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! I do that, and I have to be honest with you, despite my fervent anti-ethnic holiday position. That’s right! I’m against St. Patrick’s Day. I’m against St. Columbus Day. Saint Joseph’s Day. I’m against all of those things. Is there, by the way, is there a Jewish, a Jewish ethnic holiday? Is there one? No? Okay. The Jews have disappointed me. I mean, is there a St. Mauritius? No? A Belize? I don’t know. We gotta have — there’s gotta be something else going on here! How about an Asian ethnic holiday? Is there one? You know, a Saint Jin Tao Wow? Chinese New Year? All right, we can do that … I mean, what is with all of these ethnic holidays? I mean how about an American Day? How about were all the same kind of day?”

2 Comments on “Stay classy, Lou…”

  1. Doctor Brown says:

    I’m against St. Patrick’s Day because it’s anti-Irish, borderline racist, if Irish was a separate racial option from Caucasian. I know some WASPs probably would want it that way. But yeah, it’s a day where we celebrate the most negative stereotypes about Irish people (problem drinking, obnoxious and belligerent behavior, boiled cabbage, etc.) and it’s okay because everyone’s wearing shamrocks and ridiculous green top hats. It’s like Halloween, but one where we make fun of Paddies.
    Now, in my mind, the only thing that would be more offensive would be to spend Cinco de Mayo drinking Corona, hanging out in a broke-ass car in front of Wal-Mart dressed as a Cholo and shouting Spanish gibberish at women as they pass by, or to spend Martin Luther King Day drinking 40s, eating fried chicken, smoking crack and avoiding child support payments. If you can see why those practices would be offensive, than why is it OK on St. Patrick’s Day?

  2. I don’t know – it seems to be that the Irish community itself has pretty much put its stamp of approval on how St. Pat’s is celebrated in the US. Parades, drinking, etc. You do have a point though.


Leave a Reply

