Anyway, getting back to our seminar…

I had what I think to be a pretty good idea for our next discussion seminar.

I was re-reading Watchmen the other day — for the first time since high school, I think — in anticipation of the upcoming I-refuse-to-get-excited-until-I-see-if-its-any-good film. Like any good book, I noticed things that I had never really paid attention to before, specifically the rivalry between The New Frontiersman, to the right, and Nova Express, to the left.

So I suggest a discussion of politics and the press in Watchmen,  which, in Moore’s fictional 1985, hadn’t yet witnessed the serious jump in opinion-entertainment-news we have today with the birth of the 24-hour news network or the blog. Possible sub-questions: Why is it the left-leaning Nova Express that drives Dr. Manhattan into exile? Why set the final scene in the offices of The New Frontiersman? The right-leaning publication tends to support the masked vigilantes more, is Moore saying that is something intrinsically right-wing about the concept of the superhero? Depending on how much mileage we can get out of this, maybe we segue into a discussion about what the film gets right and wrong, since, apprehensions aside, I’m sure we’re all going to see it anyway.

What do you think?

2 Comments on “Anyway, getting back to our seminar…”

  1. I haven’t read Watchmen in ages… so I might be up for it.

    Let me give the book a flip and see if I can still stomach it. I’ll get back to you.

  2. Tito says:

    Apologies for suggesting Alan Moore yet again.


Leave a Reply

