“Not just my daughters’ toys, but we have a son too”…

Submitted without comment:

Months ago, Rachel Jones was shocked to discover her 4-year-old’s baby doll seemed to have a hidden message: Islam is the light.

Imagine her surprise when a game for her 8-year-old daughter’s Nintendo DS had the same message.

Rachel said she bought the Nintendo game, Baby Pals, as a gift for her 8-year-old daughter after a good report card.

She had no idea the game also contained the hidden message “Islam is the light.”

“We were sitting in the kitchen, and she was playing it,” said Jones. “All of a sudden she looked at me, and I looked at her and she said, ‘Mom, I think my baby said something.’ And so I played it back, and it says ‘Islam is the light.'”

The message on the doll and in the Nintendo game sound exactly the same.

The Nintendo game has an “E” rating, which means it’s suitable for any age.

(via)

4 Comments on ““Not just my daughters’ toys, but we have a son too”…”

  1. Tito says:

    Something about that last off-topic line “The Nintendo game has an ‘E’ rating, which means it’s suitable for any age” really makes me laugh. Or maybe it makes me upset. I’m not really sure.

  2. doctorbrown says:

    In fairness, though, I wouldn’t want toys or games to be hiding Christian, Jewish, Hindu, Buddhist, Jainist, Shinto, Krishna, Asatru, “Pagan”, “Wiccan”, New Age, First Evangelical Church of Bahamut the Redeemer, Scientist (Reformed) messages in it either. I’d be ok with subliminal Taoist messages, though.

  3. psycholarry says:

    What about Confucianism?

  4. you know tito, i’ve been thinking about that bit myself.

    would this been ok if the game was rated t for teen?


Leave a Reply

