What’s next, blurred-blogoverse?

I know we are just wrapping up our seminar, which I actually found to be a stimulating intellectual exercise, but I can’t help but wondering what should be next. I am personally following a few pop culture things with interest right now: the (in my opinion) surprisingly good Clone Wars cartoon, Batman comics, and Morison’s run Doom Patrol. I think that I might be interested in doing some kind of a comprehensive essay on depictions of the Joker, maybe breaking it down by decade. Just some thoughts.

7 Comments on “What’s next, blurred-blogoverse?”

  1. psycholarry says:

    FYI – This is post 666

    Off the top of my head:
    1. A political film such as the Candidate, W., or Milk
    2. The Godfather Trilogy
    3. A dystopian novel or film vs. a dystopian Comic book (Children of Men vs. Y the Last Man for instance)
    4. We3 as it relates to Animal rights

  2. no godfather, thank you very much.

  3. psycholarry says:

    Why do you hate the Italians so?

  4. Doctor Brown says:

    I made post 666!?!? Righteous! But anyway, I think Y the Last Man vs. Children of Men might be an interesting topic, and I for one, would love to discuss the Godfather. Maybe as a fairly “realistic” depiction of a crime family vs. how they are depicted in comics? A thought.
    A discussion of animal rights issues as they are depicted in comics/fiction could be really interesting as well. For instance, when my brother and I were younger, we were always pissed when Jedi ate meat in comics or books, because we were also vegetarian-sympathetic and into martial arts. We figured if the Shaolin didn’t eat meat because of their spiritual/philosophical beliefs, then Jedi should be held to an even higher standard.

  5. i’m not sure how we would use y: the last man in a seminar. it’s a vast piece of work (11 volumes?). we would have to specifically pick one storyarc and i’m just not familiar with series to make such a call.

  6. Tito says:

    Never read Y, though I suppose that would be as good of a time as any to start. You’d have to give me quite a bit of time though.

    Never read We3 either, for that matter.


Leave a Reply

