Why did you buckle it? Why would you do that?

So, was anyone else vaguely disappointed by the season finale of Venture Brothers?

It was not a bad episode, per se, but it was a let down. It didn’t really resolve many of the arcs set into motion through out the season (Brock’s kid, Monarch vs. Sgt. Hatred, whatever Doctor Girlfriend was up to, etc.) and instead dealt with a Brock arc that was shoehorned into the end of the season.

I think the writers just had too many plates in the air this season and they just weren’t able to do it all justice.

That is not to say it was a bad season, not in the least. I was just left unsatisfied in the end. And not it in the good way, leaving me wanting more. Instead I was just disappointed by the lack of resolution. Compare this to how the first and second seasons left me, I was ready to commit violence or pay untold amounts of money to see new episodes.

Of course, the season may play better for me on DVD. We will have to wait and see.

3 Comments on “Why did you buckle it? Why would you do that?”

  1. Tito says:

    I really don’t know how this finale could’ve dealt with most of the plot arcs introduced in this season. At least half of the season was devoted to backstory and digging up new information on old characters. Very little was resolved in the rest of the season, and trying to bring all those elements in for the finale would’ve been rushed. Really I was just happy to see more from Brock, who seemed to have a diminished role this season. I think this season was only disappointing in that it doesn’t work as a self-contained story. I’m not so sure if season one did either, but it might have had a more effective cliff-hanger.

    My main question (other than the obvious “is 24 dead for good?”), is about the clones. When the army of naked Venture clones gets sliced up my Monarch’s suit, Rusty says, “Well there goes my life’s work” and later, tells Hank, “you only live once.” Does this mean no more clones? And the lives Hank and Dean have now are the only one’s they get? I honestly hope so, because while the “death-prone” montage from the beginning of the second season is one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen on the show, something about the implications of an endless army of clones always rubbed me the wrong way. Maybe it’s traumatic memories of mid-nineties Spiderman.

  2. Good points, Tito.

    I too hope that this spells “no more clones” for the boys. And I don’t think 24 is dead. Though his head landing in 21’s hands was one of the most awful and hilarious things I’ve ever seen.

  3. […] Brothers The fact that this season is superior to season three should go without saying. Really, it is difficult to quantify just how wonderful this season has […]


Leave a Reply

