Goldenboy…

I went to see Hellboy II: The Golden Army this afternoon.

I don’t have a huge amount to say about it. It was a very good sequel; a bigger, more action packed version of of the original. The fun, light tone I so enjoyed in the first movie remains in this flick. The acting, writing and directing all remain rock solid.

In a way, there really is nothing to complain about with this flim. It is an incrediably well executed story with real visual imagination.

Strangely enough though, this movie did not blow me a way. I think that accounts more for my tastes than anything that the creators of Hellboy II did. Or perhaps it is because it was reviews like this. Perhaps my amazement was dimmed by the expectations game.

Hellboy II does not change the superhero genre forever. What Hellboy II does do is tell a very well executed superhero story with visual imagination that many films, even “non-genre” ones, lack. If you’re looking for a fun way to spend a couple of hours Hellboy II will put you through one hell of a good time.

I look forward to Hellboy III.

Leave a Reply

