My Brothers…

I was so incredibly excited by the return of Venture Brothers last night that I don’t really know how to put my feelings in words.

But I’ll try.

Why I think Venture Brothers is some funny is that 80% of the humor, at this point, is character based. As the writers reveal more and more about each character’s back story the humor becomes more and more about the characters and less about situational comedy. The humor is drawn from the character interactions, not from out of nowhere asides. The Venture Brothers, Dr. Venture, Brock, the Monarch, and Dr. Girlfriend are legitimate characters, not ciphers for the joke or stereotype of the moment.

Last night’s episode is case in point. The humor is (nearly) entirely drawn from an exploration of the relationship between the Monarch and Dr. Girlfriend. And its all hilarious. The call-backs to previous bits of characterization and humor through-out the series. Venture Brothers is a show that rewards close watching, it makes you want to watch each episode over and over again.

I’m not sure how this premier holds up compared to other episodes in the series, to provide such a judgment I’d have to see how it fits into the whole arc of the rest of the season.

What judgment I can make is that the third season premier of Venture Brothers did not disappoint and it seems to spell good things for us over the next couple of months.

I did miss one thing, what exactly was it that Dr. Girlfriend told the Monarch at the end of Season Two?

3 Comments on “My Brothers…”

  1. Tito says:

    A few things:

    – I figure she told him, in so many words, that the only reason she wanted him to leave Dr. Venture alone was because of Guild pressure.

    – The strength of the characters is why, as a whole, i much prefer season two to season one. Once the writers really got a sense of who was who, (and you need to write a few episodes before you can do that) the show because twice as funny and clever.

    – I really, really hope Joseph and his Amazing Technicolor Nightmare Coat shows up again.

  2. I totally missed the whole not arching venture anymore thing on my first watching. caught it the second time.

  3. Zrose25 says:

    Season three was great! I cant wait for the fourth season to start. I totally agree with your comment that the call-backs and storylines that carry through from previous seasons. That is one of my favorite things about this show. 🙂


Leave a Reply

