A completely arbitrary list of half remembered things…

Before it became too uncool to do a “best of 2007” list/retrospective I thought I’d get my completely arbitrary list of things I most enjoyed in the last 12 months.

Then I remembered that I have a shitty memory and I can’t clearly remember what exactly I read/watched/listened to in 2007 that came out in 2007. It all blurs together.

But I decided to fuck it, this is blogging, who needs a perfect memory?  So below is my picks for the best of the best from last year.

Books

2007 was a great year for new books. The obvious choice for BOOK OF THE YEAR is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I have go reason against the grain chose something that isn’t obvious. Unlike many, I enjoyed the hell out of HP7 and my enjoyment has increased with repeated readings.

This was also a great year for Star Wars books. All four (or was it three?) Legacy of the Force novels released this year were very enjoyable. The best, of course, was Sacrifice a great emotional wrecking ball of a Star Wars book.

I read a lot of history books this year (inside and outside of class)  but the only one I read that was published in 2007 was John Ferling’s Almost A Miracle, which was a solid if unexciting narrative of the Revolutionary War. A good book, but not nearly as impressive as Adams v. Jefferson, the last Ferling book I read.

 Comics

Now here is where my memory really starts effecting things. I read a lot of shit this year and its hard to remember what exactly came out this year and what didn’t. Plus, I’m pretty disgusted with the state of superhero comicdom at this point, so most of my judgments are pretty clouded.

The easiest pick is BEST OGN for is Scott Pilgrim vol. 4. Again I go for an obvious pick (especially for those who know my reading habits well) but it really was the book I enjoyed the most this year. Will O’Malley get volume 5 out in 2008? Hmmm…

For monthly, ongoing series I’m not entirely sure what was good… all of the shit released this year tends to weigh heavily on my memory.

Here is a list of the ongoing series I enjoyed most this year (in no particular order)

  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season Eight
  • Runaways (pre-Whedon)
  • Daredevil
  • All-Star Superman
  • Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane

MINI-SERIES OF THE YEAR was easily Dr. Strange: The Oath. No explaination is required, me thinks.

Movies

MOVIE OF THE YEAR was easily Superbad, the closest thing we will ever get to a progressive, dare I say feminist (?), male driven teen sex comedy. It is nearly impossible to put into words how much I enjoyed that film. It immediately jumped into my all-time favorites list. Repeated watches have not diminished its quality.

Only other movie I remember seeing in theaters this year and really enjoying was the fifth Harry Potter film.

Music

Tito has a better list than I could ever come up with. As I commented on Tito’s list, Spoon’s Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (was there more Ga?) was easily ALBUM OF THE YEAR. Followed closely by They Might Be Giant’s newest offering, The Else.

Of course that may be because those are the only two new albums I bought this year.

TV

There was no TV SHOW OF THE YEAR for 2007 for me… honestly I barely watched any new TV this year. Heroes was mostly terrible &/or boring… I gave up on the Sopranos years and years ago…

Thinking about it… it’s kind of distressing considering how much new TV I used to watch.

I did watch a lot of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine reruns this year. Can that count?

Video Games

I didn’t play many new games this past year except Mass Effect, which was fantastic. It was so fantastic that I bought an X-Box 360 just to play it. So yeah, Mass Effect gets GAME OF THE YEAR.

I did play and enjoy BioShock too.

(last but not least) Blogs & other Internets stuff

Here are the blogs I enjoyed most in the last year (in no particular order)

WEBCOMIC OF THE YEAR is Questionable Content. It’s been relatively consistantly good all year and deserves kudos for being able to pull that off.

Though this isn’t not a good thing to note, 2007 was the year I finally gave up on PvP in disgust. Honestly it was like when I quit smoking, it was quite the relief.

Well, that’s all for 2007. It looks like 2008 is going to be a great year for pop culture, especially movies (new Batman, Potter, and Indy flicks coming out soon).  But of course, we will have to wait and see.

2 Comments on “A completely arbitrary list of half remembered things…”

  1. ari says:

    Hey! Thanks. That’s really nice of you.

    Ari


Leave a Reply

