Baltimore Comic-Con Review

The Blurred Productions staff hometown convention.

How was it? Did all the new changes create a better con? Did it grow by leaps and bounds?

Find out!

The Baltimore Comic-Con has been one of the best Conventions I’ve been to consistently, but this year it went into some different changes. It was a larger area in the Convention Center which was nice, but it made the place feel empty.

I realize this convention is quite a success story and I’m happy to support it and promote it, but this year, it was poorly organized. The ticket process was confusing and ridiculous, the lines where poorly managed and the staff was not very helpful. It was as if they traded space at the expense of customer service.

While the talent was great and it was wonderful to see some friends and talk to creators it was also disappointed with the panels. There weren’t really any.

I was really looking forward to the DC Nation panel and it really left a sour taste in my mouth. Way too many sex jokes and just overall rudeness from the DC staff made me leave. When there are children present I doubt many want to hear about the ‘Legion of Herpes Heroes’ – Kurt Busiek. I’m not saying people need to be censored. I’m the last person who is for fucking censorship, but some tact is also in order. Tell some fucking good stories and then maybe you will earn the right to talk like a fucking 14 year old.

It just made me feel the fans don’t inherently matter to them. That we can just sit there and take it. When we disagree with their stories, readers are ostracized by the DC staff.

It made me feel rather awful about continuing to buy their products and I’m the biggest DC Comics fan out there.

Logistically this Convention needs to be three days and they should take a page from the Heroes Convention people on organization. They have a very nice system and friendly staff. Also a major gripe has been the Orioles’ and Raven’s schedule. Every time they play they raise the price of rooms 100%. Not good.

I also wasn’t very impressed with the Dealers. Of course there were the usual dealers I go to and support and like. They are great, but there was very little variety.

Plus it didn’t seem terribly indie friendly. Always bad.

However I give John Gallagher of Skydog and Buzzboy huge credit for creating a kid friendly area and table. Hats off. I wish this table success as it travels the circuit. Because this is what comics needs. Kid Friendly booths that actually try to grow the readership and promote good stories and fun. NOT THE SUICIDE GIRLS. That only plays on nerds already terrible grasp and exploitative view towards women.

I give this Con 6 out of 10 bones.

Leave a Reply

