The Simpsons Movie: A short review…

I saw The Simpsons Movie yesterday. All in all I don’t have anything deep or important to say about the film but was fundamentally disappointed by the experience.

It was much like watching an episode of The Simpsons in the more recent seasons; funny, yes, but fundamentally disappointing. The laughs come less frequently and less intensely than in earlier seasons, the characters seem more mean and more stupid. The jokes are less sophisticated and more idiotic.  Let’s call this the influence of Family Guy.

So yes, I did enjoy The Simpsons Movie but I expected (or rather hoped) for better. My standards are very high when it comes to The Simpsons, standards set but the level of quality that the creators had reached in the past thus I couldn’t really help but be disappointed.

I did laugh a good deal, though, so take this for what its worth.

Leave a Reply

