An intellectual journey…

I have been meaning to write about this since March and just haven’t found the time. It is a great honor to linked by Randy Lander’s blog, because Randy and his writing has been extremely influential in my thinking about comics.

Randy’s stuff was some of the first stuff I read when I discovered that people were actually talking about comics on the internet. I was just getting back into comics as a young, socially inept teenager. This was around the turn of the century (and I was in high school!) and Randy was writing for Newsarama (I think). When he and Don MacPherson moved to The Fourth Rail and I became a die-hard reader of their’s. I found out about some great books through Randy’s reviews, most memorably Blue Monday and Fables.

But over time I had an ‘intellectual break’ with Randy’s thinking about comics. It was around the time he published this review of Avengers: Disassembled. Randy was moving away from mainstream superheroes and event driven comics while moving towards more indie work. I was moving in the opposite direction. This was my ‘mainstream zombie phase’ the era of House of M and Countdown to Infinite Crisis where Joey Q and Dan D could do no wrong and Geoff Johns and Brad Meltzer were some of my favorite writers. I even read Wizard.

For of course, I’ve grown up since then and my thinking has progressed since those dark days of teen-hood. Time and experience has proven Randy right and teenage Smith Michaels wrong. It was a long, slow process but Infinite Crisis finally broke my completely accepting love of Marvel/DC.

Now it was reading Randy on The Fourth Rail and now at Comic Pants that helped me grow intellectually in my thinking about comics.

So, yeah, anyway, thanks for the link Randy.

One Comment on “An intellectual journey…”

  1. Randy Lander says:

    Thank *you* for telling me I was right!

    It’s so much different from what I’m used to hearing on the Internet. 😉


Leave a Reply

