Welcome to Oolong Island. Margarita? (Comics Reviews: 10/11)

Very small week again. Before we get to it, a short note. After some consideration I’ve decided to tweak the ratings I give comics each week. You can check out my new rating system here. Starting from now on, I’m going to be using the new system.

With that out of the way… let’s get to it.

BOOKS I READ

52 #23 – This week was pretty much 50/50 good/bad. I’m honestly very excited to see where the Dr. Magnus plot is going. The island of evil super-scientists is a very fun idea. The Black Adam/Question/Montoya continues to baffle and bore me. So it’s cool that Renee is now just wasting people with her ray gun? Hurm. I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop on this whole “Black Adam family” business and watch Black Adam revert back to his smashing-people’s-heads-in phase. The art was a step up from the usual 52 fair. Hopefully Black Adam will be gone next week but Magnus will stick around for another issue. The whole Black Adam plot really brought this issue down for me. Still with the Magnus developments it’s not all bad. RATING: MEH

Fables #54 – The whole Hansel as witch-killer angle is a nice twist on the character. This book continues to impress month in and month out. I absolutely loved the Allerd art on the back up story. I wish he’d have a more regular output. Looking forward to the Fables: 1001 Nights of Snowfall hardcover next week. RATING: FUCKING FANTASTIC

Ultimate X-Men #75 – Ugh, that is one ugly as all hell Turner cover. Ack. Anyway, Kirkman gets some credit for going a (thankfully) somewhat different angle with ‘Ultimate Cable’. But really did the world need Ultimate Cable? I think not. This issue is very much a by the book ‘mysterious threat takes down the team’ issue. Nothing too spectacular there, nor are there any really twists on Kirkman’s many subplots. Overall, this issue was nothing to write home about… and a bit of a waste of the big SEVENTY-FIFTH ISSUE. Maybe it’ll pick up next month. RATING: GOOD

Ultimate Power #1 – I wonder what my reaction to this book would be if the artist was different. Bendis’ script is a pretty solid introduction to a crossover. But with Greg Land cover to cover (literally that cover is butt ugly) horrible art this book takes a dive into the crappy end of the quality pool. Ugh. The Squadron Supreme characters look NOTHING like how Gary Frank drew them. Land is just a crap, crap, crappy artist. Plus, I have little faith that Bendis and his follow up writers, JMS and Loeb, will be able to hold this together. But we’ll see. Overall, Bendis’ script saves this book just a little. RATING: TERRIBLE

Dork #11 – I don’t want to ruin any of the jokes in this book so I’ll just say I found this book harlious. Great stuff from Dorkin. Not all the jokes work but a great majority do. RATING: FANTASTIC

BOOKS I SPED READ

Civil War: Frontline #7 – I wonder… is Reed Richards the “shadowy figure” assisting Norman Osborne? Would Jenkins/Millar/Marvel really go that far? I’ll leave that up to you True Believer! (Hopefully it doesn’t turn out to be him…) RATING: UTTER SHIT

Martian Manhunter #3 – Does turning J’onn dark really make his character more appealing? Not to me. RATING: TERRIBLE

Tales of the Unexpected #1 – The Dr. 13 backup and Mignola cover are worth the price of admission alone. Yet, I really didn’t like the Spectre main story. At all. So that weights the book down to a… RATING: MEH

Green Arrow #67 – …and Winick has lost me. I’ve been on this book mostly (missed a few issues between Meltzer and Winick runs) from day one and I’m now completely not interested in this book. I don’t even want go speed read it or follow it by reading it at the store. Ugh, how disappointing. RATING: UTTER SHIT

That’s all for this week. I hope the new, slight adjusted rating system is an improvement. (I’d love some feedback)
Oh. And yes, I did buy the Clue murder weapon that Absolute Sandman vol. 1 (it was Professor Plum, in the Library, with Absolute Sandman). A review will be forthcoming.

5 Comments on “Welcome to Oolong Island. Margarita? (Comics Reviews: 10/11)”

  1. psycholarry says:

    So with ultimate cable – how does working without a healing facter make him better than wolverine? Wouldn’t the healing factor be an advantage regardless?

  2. don’t look at me. i guess he up his “badass factor” so how… steroids?

  3. psycholarry says:

    Jesus, I can’t believe I put “facter” in there.

  4. hey, i said “so” instead of “some”

  5. personally, i dont completely get it but I am getting there….


Leave a Reply

