Hark, on the Horizon! Verily a new SRM!

Well, I was going to edit and revise this before posting, but it’s looking like my work load won’t allow me time for that. So here is the raw version of a scene I wrote. Get used to these, I’ve been writing a number of play scenes for class, so you’ll be getting a bunch of them.

Appropriate Viewing Material

By PsychoLarry

 

 

THE SETTING is the dining area of a generic fast food restaurant. The sparsely populated room is filled with plastic plants, squeaking spinning plastic chairs and small Formica tables. In the background, over a drab beige divider the colorful menu displays pictures of delicious food. Under the humming glow of the fluorescent lights, two college age men, Jason and Barry sit eating mashed up burgers.

 

JASON

God, I can’t believe they charge so much for this bland garbage.

(Barry shrugs his shoulders and continues eating)

I mean, I guess the chicken sandwiches aren’t too bad… right? How’s yours?

 

BARRY

It’s alright. I asked for no mayo.

 

JASON

Right? Exactly! I mean, if I’m going to spend $6 for a quick meal at least they could make it right, Christ.

(Barry shrugs once more and scrapes the mayo off his sandwich)

And $2.40 for this soda? I know it’ 36oz. but that is clearly highway robbery. Too much damn syrup in it anyway.

 

BARRY

Mine tastes fine. Free refills anyway.

 

JASON

No way man. You can’t just let that shit go. You need to go up there and get your money back.

 

BARRY

Not a chance, I’ve got no problem with-

 

JASON

Come on! They put mayo on your sandwich! What if you had been allergic? Bet that soda tastes like shit too. Go up there and get your money back

 

BARRY

I’m not gonna do that Jason, this is stupid.

 

JASON

What are you, a pussy? You can’t let them treat you like this!

 

BARRY

God, alright, you know what? You really shouldn’t be acting like such a damn hard-ass every time we go out, it really doesn’t fit.

 

JASON

What are you talking about, I’m just trying to help you out man. Anyway, I just don’t take shit from people.

 

BARRY

See? That’s what I’m talking about, talking about, alright, I live with you, I know what you do at home.

 

JASON

What the hell are you getting at?

 

BARRY

The movies you watch.

 

JASON

What movies?

 

BARRY

God, you’re going to make me say it? Fine. Look, you’re a grown man; you can’t be watching the Care Bears movie every night, that’s just not right.

 

JASON

That is a classic film man; I can’t believe you’re attacking it. You can’t tell me you didn’t love it as a kid too!

 

BARRY

No, I didn’t, and even if I did that would have been when I was 8, not when I was 20.

 

JASON

Hey bro, you’re right, I’m a grown man. I don’t need you telling me what is and isn’t good alright?

 

BARRY

Brother Bear? The Flintstones Movie? Every Earnest film? It’s like you want to put on a festival of movies for children.

 

JASON

God, what do you even care, I watch what I want, you don’t have to watch it.

 

BARRY

Because I live with you! And you watch that trash every night! It’s driving me crazy!

 

JASON

Jesus, alright, I’ll watch them when you’re not around. Seriously though, it’s not like I complain about your artsy shit films.

 

BARRY

What? The closest thing to artsy I watch is Goodfellas! Are you really that immature.

 

JASON

Chill out man, I don’t appreciate this hostility. I said I’d stop, what do you want.

 

BARRY

You cut this bad-ass attitude out when we’re hanging out alright? If you’re gonna be watching stuff made for kid’s in day care don’t act like you from the damn streets.

 

JASON

I do no-

 

BARRY

Look, don’t start, just calm down with that stuff alright.

 

JASON

Fine, whatever. Still don’t see what’s so bad about Care Bears.

 

BARRY

STOP!

Both lapse into silence, eating their food. Jason bites into his burger and grimaces.

 

The End

3 Comments on “Hark, on the Horizon! Verily a new SRM!”

  1. ’tis very good, my friend. i wonder, is the care bear movie out on dvd?

  2. psycholarry says:

    “Tis replied Aunt Helga!”

  3. excellent reference! you get a cookie.


Leave a Reply

