We’ll smack you up! (More Comics Reviews: 9/27)

Okay. I guess I did miss some books this week. Let’s get to it.

Supergirl #10 – Wow. This issue was actually pretty good if you ignore Churchill’s art (which is just a bit to ‘stroke book’ for my tastes). Kelly manages to make ‘cliched high school plot #243′ work in a rather interesting way. His take on Supergirl is about 180 degrees from Rucka and Loeb’s. Perhaps Supergirl will grow a personality? Hm. I’d say I have hopes for this book but the Outsiders appear next issue. RATING: GOOD

Action Comics #843 – Solid issue. Pete Woods’ art is quite beatiful this outing. Nothing spectuluar on the writing side… just solid super-hero crazyness. Wonder what Johns/Donner have planned for this book? RATING: REALLY GOOD

American Virgin #7 – This book isn’t clicking with me. It’s not bad but the last few issues have left me cold. Maybe once this arc reaches some sort of resolution I’ll be able to work up more interest. RATING: MEH

Civil War: Front Line #6 – Eck. Would it surprise you if I told you both Tony Stark and Reed Richards come off looking like total pricks in this issue? No? Hm. The “tying things to real-life” back up was specially dumb this issue. Is Paul Jenkins even trying? RATING: UTTER SHIT

She-Hulk #12 – This book is just great. It’s really nice to see Rick Burchett’s art, it’s just lovely. RATING: FANTASTIC

X-Men #191 – Well, the art is much, much clearer this month. I just wish they’d gotten someone with bit of a more interesting style. This issue is mostly character building and exposition, so let’s hope we get to see Carey put his full team into action next month, eh? RATING: GOOD

That really is all for this week. I think.

Leave a Reply

