Maybe one day I’ll be big (Comics Reviews: 8/27)

Big, busy week. Let’s get started. Reviews will be short and sweet this week.

BOOKS I READ

52 #21 – Back to plots I don’t enjoy. Eh. This book was BORING. Not horrible by any means but just… eh. RATING: MEH

Daredevil # 89 – When Brubaker said that Daredevil was going back to more a “swashbuckling” character, I didn’t think he met literally. Great issue, though Lark & Gaudian’s art seemed more rushed than usual. My reaction to the whole plot of this arc (and the last one) is pretty much the same as Daredevil’s at the end of this issue. RATING: FANTASTIC

Eternals #4 – So, he’s pissed because he could never ever get laid? Hm. I think this issue was a bit of a misstep, though I loved the last couple of pages. RATING: GOOD

Captain America #22 – Well, this book is knocked a bit off the rails by the whole Civil War mess, but Brubaker manages to mostly make it work. Captain American comes off much less of a zealot dick in this book than over in the main Civil War min. Not a big surprise. Perkin’s art was excellent. RATING: REALLY GOOD

Batman #657 – Well, shit! Talk about anti-decompression! Poor Tim Drake, always getting the short end of the stick. More great Batman from Morrison, though this issue didn’t wow me quite like the last. RATING: FANTASTIC

Spider-Man Loves Mary Jane #10 – Love this book to death. McKeever gets one awesome point for using the looter, and another for making a Gwen Stacy bridge-falling-joke. He loses one for giving the football team just the most utterly dumb rationale for hating the school play. RATING: REALLY GOOD

Ultimate Spider-Man #100 – TOO MANY SECRETS. Well. Fuck. Bendis really pulled the rug out from under us on this one, eh? This issue just blew me away… but I’m now really getting scared that this whole “Clone Saga” remix just isn’t going to add up in the end. I pray to the god of comics that Bendis can pull it off. If can’t, this book is just going to fall apart. RATING: FANTASTIC

Ultimates #12 – When Mark Millar gets it right, he gets it right. I don’t think there have been so many double page reveals in one comic book. Hitch’s art is just outstanding. The detail is fucking amazing! I loved Loki’s little speech at the end. Brillant. RATING: FUCKING FANTASTIC

BOOKS I SPED READ

Teen Titians # 39 – This book is just filled with terrible ideas. Miss Martian? COME ON. RATING: REALLY BAD

The Amazing Spider-Man #535 – If you can’t guess what happens in this issue you’re an idiot. JMS really goes above and beyond the call of duty in making Tony Stark and Reed Richards unforgivable pricks in this issue. Ugh. Tony threatens Mary Jane and Aunt May! I mean, FUCK! RATING: UTTER SHIT

Justice Leauge of America #2 – Boring. Just boring, that’s all I was left with after reading this issue. Nothing wowed me, nothing pissed me off… hell, I didn’t even find anything completely stupid (though the army of Red Tornadoes was pushing it). Justice League #2 is just one plain old boring comic book. RATING: MEH

That’s all, except for Trials of Shazam is getting it’s own review. Again. The book is just beyond awful, beyond shit. More on that later.

5 Comments on “Maybe one day I’ll be big (Comics Reviews: 8/27)”

  1. psycholarry says:

    You just talked about Spider-Man loves Mary Jane and followed it up with “love this book to death”. I don’t think I even need to make the obvious comment here.

  2. no, i don’t think you do.

  3. psycholarry says:

    Think Northstar. Or Apollo and Midnighter from the Authority. Or Ultimate Colossus.

  4. Ragnell says:

    Can’t wait for the Trials review, but this quote…

    The Amazing Spider-Man #535 – If you can’t guess what happens in this issue you’re an idiot. JMS really goes above and beyond the call of duty in making Tony Stark and Reed Richards unforgivable pricks in this issue. Ugh. Tony threatens Mary Jane and Aunt May! I mean, FUCK! RATING: UTTER SHIT

    It’s nto that I don’t trust you, it’s just that I can’t believe this one.

  5. Tony says this in reference to Aunt May & MJ:
    “Don’t worry about them. As long as they’re with me, they’re safe.”
    At this point it’s pretty clear to both Tony and Peter that Peter is going to switch sides… so that came off as a big time veiled threat. At least to me.


Leave a Reply

