There is always someone cooler than you!

And it’s over for this year. This certainly was the most exciting and tiring Baltimore Comic-Con in my 4 (or so) years of attendance. The con had really grown this year, which is both a good and a bad thing. There was more big name talent this year (John Cassady!) and Marvel had a much larger presence (including a Cup of Joe panel!). But there was a dark side all of this… better talent = more people and thus longer lines. The talent seemed more stressed, actually everyone seemed more stressed from the con staff to the retailers

I didn’t get to go to any of the panels because I worked 70 or 80 percent of the weekend.

I did get a come really cool sketches from Mike Wieringo (who was really nice) in my Fantastic Four hardcovers. It was really cool of him to do that, I didn’t even ask him to!

I also won the ‘jam sketch’ for Saturday by Sean Chen (who was really nice too!) and one of his studio partners (whose name escapes me at the moment but i will update this once i find out). I hope to scan it soon and put it up here. It’s just awesome!

Andy Runton (who was extremely nice) was kind of enough to sketch Owlie in both the copies of the first Owlie volumes I bought.

Don Rosa was kind of enough to sketch a cool Uncle Scrooge for me.

I no longer have an allusions as to how fucking hard it is to work a booth at comic book convention. Quite the tiring experince.

Finally was finally able to meet Devon (of Seven Hells!and Big Monkey Comics).

Overall I really enjoyed Baltimore Comic-Con 2006… and I can’t wait until next year.

Leave a Reply

