retirement

This post has been a long time coming. After about of month of thinking about it, I have come to an important decision regarding the future of this blog.

I’ve decided that the time has come to officially retire Blurred Productions – for good.

This was not an easy choice for me to make but it is one that is very much bowing to the reality of the situation. The blog has been virtually dead since fall/winter 2010 (in a proud BP tradition, there was even some intra-contributor snark about this situation). We (pretty much, I) long ago surrendered our small voice within the comic book blogosphere. Quite wisely, several of the key contributors have set up their own personal corners of the internet. About two years ago my life (thanks to Graduate School) got very busy and I let my posting here slag and slag and eventually fade away. My attempts to spark some life back into this blog have fizzled. Several times over recent months, I’ve started writing a post but allowed it to sit in WordPress’s “drafts” folder. The dead weight of this blog’s long past and my guilt over my key role in its gradual demise were huge stumbling blocks to getting this place lively again.

It was not easy to come to the decision to retire this blog for good. Blurred Productions has been a part of my life since I was fourteen. As pretty much anyone reading this by this point well knows, BP began as a virtual way for me to distribute my (terrible) fiction to my friends and acquaintances. Later that website grew into a way for me to keep in touch with my high school (even later, undergraduate) friends. For about a year, Blurred Productions went down because of a falling out with our webhost. Then, a little over five years ago, I relaunched BP as a blog.

I stand by what we published here during Blurred Productions: The Blog Years. Tito and Psycholarry both published some truly great things (that perennially continue to bring traffic here). Doctor Brown and The Kaiser always brought sharp analysis to the table with  the great pieces they contributed here. I even stand by nearly everything I wrote here – especially about comics (even with the countless spelling/grammar errors & typos). We had a good run as part of the (often acrimonious) debates over gender in comics and other issues that continue to plague the comics industry today. Some of the most fun I’ve ever had on the blog were during those heady days. All and all, this blog was central to my intellectual and cultural development.

Because of this I will not be removing the archives or deactivating Blurred Productions’ history in anyway. While there will (likely) never be new content here again, the old content will remain here for good.

I’d like to thank the good folks of Progressive Ruin, Ragnell, Randy LanderWhen Fangirls Attack, and Kalinara for bringing us much needed traffic and links.

But have no fear, if you truly love reading the analysis, snark, and opinion of the contributors here, you aren’t out of luck. Many of us moved on to bigger (and much better) things and have set up new homes in fresher, smarter corners of the internets. For as they say: the king is dead, long live the king.

New Homes of all of your Blurred Productions favorites:

I will update that list as other contributors create their own blogs and websites.

In the end, I want to thank, you, our readers for consuming our content and putting up with our frequent absences. It was a real pleasure to serve as editor & chief of this blog for five years and of Blurred Productions, more generally, for much longer. Sadly, all good things most end and Blurred Productions lasted longer than most.

[A quick note, I reserve the right to tweak this page so that in always stays at the top of the blog - even if other contributors post their own good-byes or other things]
One Comment on “retirement”

  1. pramod says:

    hai im male i love female plz cont me im 34yers


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.