Invading our space…

Following in the foot steps of Troy Denning and R.A. Salvatore (and to a lesser extent Elaine Cunningham), it seems that Lucasbooks has tapped WOTC go-to guy Paul S. Kemp to write a new Star Wars novel in 2010.

While I’m all for add new voices to the Star Wars EU, I’m ambivalent about adding more voices from the world of D&D novels. While I have read a not-insignificant amount of D&D novels (especially Forgotten Realms books) and enjoyed a good number of them, they have their own internal logic and themes that don’t always mesh well with the Star Wars milieu. And some writers for WOTC who have made the transition to big name Star Wars EU writers have not been able to completely leave behind the D&D tropes when tackling the galaxy far, far away (yes, I’m looking at you Troy). This sometime inability to remember that Endor is not part of Faerun has harmed otherwise enjoyable work (why must you hurt me so, Troy?).

This is not to completley disreguard whatever output Kemp will produce. In fact his novel sounds interesting;

I want to let you all know that I’ll be writing a novel in the Star Wars line from Del Rey. I’m both honored and excited to be a part of Star Wars. The novel, currently untitled, will be a standalone, occurs after the events of the Legacy of the Force series, and will feature a Jedi who has been mentioned by name only a handful of times in previous Star Wars novels, and who has (as far as I know) never been developed at all (I tried very hard to convince the Del Rey editors to allow me to use a previously unused character, and they were gracious in that regard; the story is also entirely of my own creation, so that’s pretty cool, too).

But still I am wary.

(via)

One Comment on “Invading our space…”

  1. dunc says:

    Salvatore was kind of a bust… But Kemp isn’t Salvatore. So I’m not going to judge yet. Of course, you couldn’t pay me to read any of those D&D books, no matter who’s writing. :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.