Coyness is nice, and coyness can stop you, from saying all the things in life you’d like to…

In this edition of our link-blogging feature “Wish I’d Said That…” we enter a new era. Done are the Star Wars titles for these posts! It is a BRAVE NEW WORLD folks.

Can anyone tell me where I got this title from?

On to the links:

  • Matthew Yglesias on contingency & patriotism.
  • Now I think I’ve made it clear that in this crazy Presidential contest that I support Obama. Now here Historiann highlights some of the sexist treatment Clinton has received from the press and Obama supporters. This is something I completely agree with. Clinton has gotten a lot of sexist shit (some of which I have witnessed first hand) from my fellow Obama supporters. It needs to stop. Not only is it as bad a the racist shit that’s been thrown at Obama but it makes our candidate look bad and we should be better than that. The racist cant directed at Obama is wrong and the sexist cant directed at Clinton is wrong. And everyone should say that. Even if you don’t support Clinton.
  • Warren Ellis on his superhero work.
  • Required Eric & Ari link: Eric on the past & future of American liberalism.
  • New site design for Scary Go Round.
  • Eric Alterman on the future of the newspaper.
  • (Via Ezra Klein) Why CNN continues to allow this man on the TV baffles my tiny brain.
  • An interesting¬† Mario Kart (Wii) review.
  • Fan reaction to the Superman legal cluster-fuck. Somehow, this is not surprising. Fans want their comics, goddamn it, and we can’t let a little thing like creator rights or justice get in the way.
  • Marvel B0y fake!!?!?! Oh noes!

I think that’s all for now.


3 Comments on “Coyness is nice, and coyness can stop you, from saying all the things in life you’d like to…”

  1. historiann says:

    Thanks for the link, Smith Michaels. I just thought I’d let you know that while I was out for my (late) morning run, I heard some jerk call the Ed Schultz Show to say “MY wife brought this up the other day, what happens if Hillary goes through menopause?” while President. (Like that the *extremely manly* ploy by saying “my wife brought this up?”) And, what’s worse, Ed actually entertained the question, and didn’t say “get real, that’s ridiculous.” Ugh. I can’t take it any more.

  2. Tito says:

    On the Carville link…

    When I first heard the “Judas” comment, my thoughts were that it was unfortunate not because of the Biblical connotations, but because Carville was implying that Richardson can’t have his own opinions because he should be permanently in debt to the Clintons for making him who he is. What makes the link even sadder is that Carville insists that what I thought was, in fact, exactly the point he intended to make.

    It’s really unfortunate that Carville is so oblivious to the fact that what he calls “loyalty” is one of the worst things about Washington – the tendency to make political decisions not based on personal beliefs or the beliefs of constituents, but based on owing someone a favor. If Richardson is disloyal for supporting Obama, then so is every congressman that has ever not voted along strict party lines.

  3. Joseph says:

    …and if there’s something you’d like to try…. ask, i wont’ say no- how could i?

    I love the Smiths. Wonderful title. Fits perfectly with the Ellis story too and thanks for that as well! I’m looking forward to seeing his take on X-Men, but I really wish more issues of Fell would be produced. CHeers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.